logo_img

Dog Licenses

Dog licensing period is April 1st through April 30th, annually.


Which Dogs Must Be Licensed?

State of New Hampshire RSA 466:1 requires that every owner or keeper of a dog four months old or older shall annually cause it to be registered, numbered, described, and licensed for one year in the city or town in which the dog is kept. Regardless of when the license is obtained, the license shall be effective from May 1st of each year to April 30th of the subsequent year.

What Do I Need To License My Dog?

State law requires that before a license is issued, the owner or keeper of a dog must furnish proof to the town or city clerk that the dog has been vaccinated against rabies. (Present rabies vaccination papers)

In addition, if the dog has been spayed or neutered, the owner or keeper needs to furnish the town or city with the proper documentation.

How Much Does It Cost?

  • Puppy (ages 4-7 months) $7.50
  • Neutered or spayed dogs $7.50
  • Unaltered male of female dog $10.00
  • Senior citizen dog $2.00 (owner who is 65 years old or older on the first dog only)
  • Group (5 or more dogs) $20.00
  • Commercial Kennel $20.00 (Breeders of 10 litters or more annually)

 

What Happens If I Don’t License My Dog?

Failure to license your dog is a violation of State law. In addition to the annual license fee you will be charged a late fee of $1.00 per month, per dog for each month (or part of month) after May 1st. Owner may also be subject to a civil forfeiture fee and any other fees assessed by the Dog officer and/or Town Clerks office. If a forfeiture fee is not paid a summons to appear in court shall be issued in accordance with state law requirements.

I No Longer Own My Dog, What Should I Do?

Call Seabrook Town Clerks office at (603)474-3152 or email townclerk@seabrooknh.org and let us know you no longer have your dog. We will then remove your dog from the system so you will not receive another notice.

Click Here to link to State of New Hampshire Regulations

 

 

Licensing may be done by mail, or in person.

Office Hours are M-F 8am-3pm. We also offer extended hours on the Third Thursday of each month until 7pm.

Checks can be made out to the Town Of Seabrook. Please do not mail cash.

 

Seabrook Town Clerk

Po box 476

Seabrook, NH 03874